–Update

19 Mar

Dear followers,

I have not posted any more recipes in a long time. I recently have moved from Montgomery, Alabama back to the greater Fort Lauderdale area in South Florida. Although this has been a time-consuming and kind of chaotic event that has interfered with my availability to write new posts for the blog, there is some good news.  The good thing about living here in South Florida is the fact that now I can find all kinds of Venezuelan ingredients and products that where very difficult to find in Montgomery, Alabama.

So, I can’t promise I will have time in my new life here in South Florida to post a new recipe every Wednesday, but I will try my best to do so… And I will also include information and my personal ratings on local Venezuelan restaurants and stores that you can visit if you are ever in this area.

Hope to write a new post soon.

¡Buen Provecho!

5 Responses to “–Update”

  1. Chef Melissa March 20, 2012 at 05:26 #

    I just found your website and it’s been a wealth of knowledge for me! I have a party coming up and the host would like me to prepare a Venezuelan menu. I think I have the entire thing mapped out, thanks to your beautiful recipes! Can’t wait to cook this week!

    • mwolowicz March 20, 2012 at 12:51 #

      Chef Melissa,

      Not only do we share passion for food, but also our names… I would love to see pictures of your upcoming Venezuelan party menu!

      I’m glad my blog was helpful!

      Melissa

    • mwolowicz March 20, 2012 at 12:56 #

      I would also love to know what your menu will be!!!🙂

      Melissa

  2. Ashley April 29, 2013 at 09:48 #

    Hola!! I am so happy to have found your blog! I am American, but my husband is from Venezuela. Just reading your blog I feel like I know you! We just recently moved to Pompano Beach so you must be just around the corner from us! Have you found any Venezuelan Markets or restaurants? Or any place that Venezuelans like to mingle? My husband has been in the US for almost 10 years and has not been back to Venezuela since. He has been a little “homesick” lately, probably because of the elections and I bet he would feel a little better if he was around some Venezuelans!!

    • mwolowicz April 29, 2013 at 10:56 #

      Ashley,

      Thank you for visiting the blog, and thank you for your comment. I am happy you found my blog as well. I know exactly how your husband feels, and being homesick is one of the reasons I started this blog. Welcome to Florida. I hope you are liking it so far. Yes, I am close by, I am in Hollywood, which is between Aventura and Fort Lauderdale, but I visit my husband’s grandparents near Pompano very often. I know a lot of Venezuelan markets and restaurants, but unfortunately they are not near Hollywood, or Pompano, at least not that I know of. Venezuelans are abundant here in south Florida, but only in certain places. The city of Weston, (or as we call it – WestonZuela) and the city of Doral (DoralZuela), have the largest Venezuelan communities that I know of. Yes, the elections and the situation in our country right now is making us all very stressed out and homesick. Let your husband know about the larger Venezuelan communities down here. He can also get in touch with the Venezuelan Brotherhood and the ‘Comando Venezuela Weston’ at comandotricolorweston@gmail.com, and request to be signed up for newsletters regarding Venezuelan News and Events.
      I can recommend visiting Hollywood every Monday Night for the Food Truck Invasion, but check the listing of food trucks before you come and see if the food truck “Los Chamos” will be here. I have a list on my foursquare account of the Venezuelan Restaurants in South Florida, and some other places where they sell Venezuelan Foods and ingredients, you can find that here. I have not tried them all, so I cannot recommend one over the other, but you can search for them and read the reviews on yelp and google. You can also find most Venezuelan foods and ingredients at the local latin supermarkets called Sedano’s.

      I hope this is enough information for now, but please do not hesitate to ask any other questions you may have. I will be more than happy to help you out.

      Now tell me, do you ever cook some Venezuelan recipes for your husband?

      MW

Leave a Reply

