La Guasacaca

3 Aug

The Guasacaca (Wah-Sah-Kaka), is a Venezuelan version of your typical Mexican Guacamole.   However, in Venezuela we use it as a lot more than just dipping sauce.   As varied as Arepa fillings, the Guasacaca can be very different depending on who’s preparing it.   Some people use some ingredients, and some people leave some ingredients out.   But the most important thing is that it must contain avocados.

The Guasacaca is also multipurpose, since we can serve it with many different things and has many different uses.   In my family, the Guasacaca ALWAYS has to be present when cooking “Parrillas”, which are simply different types of grilled beef.   The Guasacaca would be served as a “sauce” to dip your beef in, or place on top of the beef, and even on top of the other sides such as baked potatoes, Hallaquitas, Bollos, Tostones, or anything else you can think of.

Guasacaca also usually accompanies the famous “Pollo a la Brasa” or what I am guessing would be translated as either barbeque, roasted chicken, or grilled chicken.   But it is usually cooked inside a rotisserie type oven.

The Guasacaca can also be used as a simple dip to serve with chips at all kinds of parties and events.

When my mom made tacos for dinner, she would also make her famous Guasacaca and we would eat it with chips and also put it inside our tacos.

No that I live very far away from home, and I can no longer attend the usual Sunday Parrilla at my grandparent’s house, or have my dad bring home some pollo a la brasa from the Riviera brothers’ restaurant, or even have my mom make tacos with her famous Guasacaca… I guess I have to make it myself.   I usually have some friends over for “Taco Night” and make the now famous Guasacaca, and I have yet to meet someone who doesn’t like it.

Taco Night... Featuring Venezuelan Guasacaca

Taco Night... Featuring Venezuelan Guasacaca

¡Buen Provecho!

Leave a Reply

